Revisiting my portfolios

Posted on April 15, 2010

1



Over the years, I’ve created, I realized while writing this post : 5 portfolios – one for each major event in my life. The first one was during undergrad to mail to universities for graduate admissions, the next was a teaser to mail to firms – followed a by a full-fledged folio at the end of my Graduate studies. The recent most teaser and folio are my favorite designs and were made, again for job applications just after I got laid off.

Each of these events shaped the colors, size and design of the portfolio. Looking back, my strongest folio was the one I made after I got laid off – though those were terrible tension filled times, the design of the folio portrayed something else: it was simple, clutter free, to the point and conveyed my work at its best. Even today I wonder if getting laid off was a good thing after all – obviously wasn’t in financial terms but it did gave me a chance to look back and see what I had achieved so far and where I wanted to go from there…

Back to portfolios,  I noticed a trend in my folio designs: their size gets smaller and smaller… me likes! saves paper and less ink needed. My latest folio is 6″ x 6″ (the one with the black n white cover)

This will be my last one though: no more print folios, I plan to create an online portfolio and carry a laptop to interviews in the future. Best way to save ink and paper.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Tagged: ,